Ground Breaking

Ground Breaking

Highlights of the History of Holiday Hills United Methodist Church

The Warranty Deed for the present church location in Bailey subdivision of Stark, now Greers Ferry, was made and recorded June 27, 1966, book 117, p. 45 Cleburne County Clerk’s Office. The trustees for Holiday Hills United Methodist Church at that time were Kenneth W. Rolan, Oscar S. Nixon and Jack R. Tucker. The grantor was Kenneth J. Bailey and his wife Katie Bailey. The first meeting of the new building committee was held at the Sugar loaf Boat Dock September 13, 1966, exactly 2 years after the first organizational meeting in 1964. Jack Tucker was chairman, and Oscar Nixon was treasurer.

architectGround was broken October 19, 1966, but by March 8, 1967 all funds were exhausted. Mr. Tucker borrowed $2,000 from the Clinton State Bank; the board donated $1,000; $5,000 was received from the conference, and $2,675 was raised through pledges. Fred Dudeck was chairman of the board at this hectic time.

The Church was completed in time to hold the first service on Easter Sunday 1967, Methodist Conference awarded us the prestigious “Country Church of the Year award for the 1967/68 year.

The facility remained the same until the Fellowship Hall was added in 1987. It was named after Rev. Cowan.

In 2012, a new Educational/Administration complex was added. The 4,000 SF addition doubled the size of the Fellowship Hall, and included a new reception area, Welcome Corner, new serving counter, Church office, Pastor’s Office, Library, Nursery and Classroom.

As the town of Greers Ferry has enjoyed continued growth, so has the Holiday Hills UMC. We now have a membership of 144.  We are a church alive in the Grace of God, offering Christ, transforming lives, and changing our community through the power of the Holy Spirit.

Pastors Through The Years

Since 1964 and listed by Appointment the Pastors have included:
1964 – Charles Jones
1965 – Thomas J. Cowan
1975 – Bill H. Womack
1978 – Valines
1980 – Glen Lamb
1983 – Harould Scott
1988 – John R. Chapman
1992 – Ellsworth Watson
1998 – Nancy Rainwater
2000 – Denzel Stokes
2005 – C. Dan Brand

E.W Grandstaff, architect and builder
Mr. Grandstaff designed, supervised and helped construct the building.